HomeSports2023 CAF Awards: Oshoala, Nnadozie make final list; Kanu excluded

2023 CAF Awards: Oshoala, Nnadozie make final list; Kanu excluded

The Confederation of African Football has revealed the final shortlists for the women’s categories of the 2023 CAF Awards. Notably, Asisat Oshoala and Chiamaka Nnadozie have earned spots on these prestigious lists.

In the Player of the Year category, Barcelona striker Oshoala will contend with her France-based compatriot Barbara Babanda from Zambia, as well as South Africa’s Andile Dlamini, Hilda Magaia, and Thembi Kgatlana.

Additional contenders include Cameroon’s Ajara Njoya and the Moroccan trio of Anissa Lahmari, Fatima Tagnaout, and Ghizalaine Chebbak, who plays for AS FAR.

READ ALSO: Erling Haaland breaks Andy Cole’s record, becoming the Premier League’s fastest to score 50 goals in 48 appearances, netting against Liverpool

READ ALSO: M.I Abaga recounts how he met his wife, Eniola

Unfortunately, the industrious Uchenna Kanu, a breakout star in the reviewed year, will have to wait for another opportunity to vie for the title of Africa’s best player.

Goalkeeper Nnadozie enjoys a double delight, heading the Goalkeeper of the Year category. While she is the favored candidate, she faces competition from Morocco’s Imane Abdelahad and Khadija Er-Rmichi, along with South Africa’s Andile Dlamini and Kaylin Swart.

Nigeria boasts two contenders in the Young Player of the Year category: Esther Ajakaye and Deborah Abiodun. However, they face stiff competition from Ghana’s Comfort Yeboah, Morocco’s Nesryne El Chad, and South Africa’s Thubelihle Shamase.

Randy Waldrum, the coach of the Super Falcons in the FIFA Women’s World Cup, will vie for the Coach of the Year award against Mehdi El Qaichouri (SC Casablanca), Reynald Pedros (Morocco), Desiree Ellis (South Africa), and Jerry Tshabalala (Mamelodi Sundowns).

In another exciting development, Morocco, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa, and Zambia are in contention for the National Team of the Year award.

According to CAF, the winners in each category will be determined through the votes of a panel consisting of the CAF Technical Commission, media professionals from Member Associations, head coaches, and captains of Member Associations, including clubs involved in the group stages of interclub competitions.

The awards ceremony is scheduled to take place on Monday, December 11, 2023, at the Palais des Congres Movenpick in Morocco.

Alfred Saiki
Alfred Saiki
A passionate sports journalist and administrator. I want to see the world.